2016 · Children · Culture · Interesting Things · TV · Women · Writing

Interesting Things #2

It’s been a while since my last Interesting Things post, not sure why – life gets in the way! – but here are the things that I find interesting at the moment:

Stuff Mom Never Told You

stuffyourmomnevertoldyou-logo-1600x1600
(image: http://www.stuffmomnevertoldyou.com)

This podcast comes from HowStuffWorks.com (the same people behind Stuff You Should Know and Stuff You Missed in History Class), and I really love it. It’s female-focused and the two presenters, Cristen and Caroline, are relatable and cool. It’s got the same laid-back attitude as the other HowStuffWorks podcasts and I am glad I just started listening to it, as I still have lots of episodes to go!

American Horror Story: Roanoake

0l_wdufj
(image: caltimes.org)

I already loved AHS, and the new season is just as brilliant and weird as the previous ones. I like the new direction they’ve taken with Roanoake, though it still feels like classic AHS. Also, Sarah Paulson is basically a perfect person. Please can she be in everything. I need to watch American Crime Story too…

Hollie McNish and her writing about motherhood

118436_large
(image: theskinny.co.uk)

I’m not a mother, but I’m an auntie, and I expect to be a mother in the next few years or so. In this article Hollie McNish talks about issues that are super important, and I like her writing and her attitude. She speaks about things that are really important to women, and that are censored for their supposed unpleasantness – much like the way periods are often censored in the media. I must read her book!

Getting back into writing!

writing
(image: tribecomics.com)

I used to write a lot, but in the last few years I just haven’t had the time/made the effort. I ran off a poem yesterday, and I have a story in the works that I think could really become something. It can take a long time (and a lot of abandoned stories) to find the piece of writing that could really work. I have tried a few different types of stories, but I think I MAY have found my niche! That sounds weird.

What’s interesting you at the moment?

Leave a Reply

