2016 · Culture · Family · Interesting Things · Life · personal essay

Interesting Things #1

This is my new little series – Interesting Things. Over the course of a week I bookmark or save a huge amount of links or tweets to things I find interesting with the aim of reading them at a later time when I have more, well, time, to do so. It is a varied list, so there should be something that interests you too. I’d also love to hear about any interesting stuff you have stumbled upon this week that you’d like to share – please do so in the comments.

The Guardian’s list of the 50 podcast you need to hear

I have just started getting into podcasts, so I really appreciate lists like this. I’m working out what I do and don’t like in a podcast, so I’m trying out a few to see what I think. So far I have two that I’ve subscribed to: No Such Thing As A Fish (the QI Elves’ podcast) and Lore (which explores a creepy real life story in each episode and is super great).

lore-tshirt-art
(image: lorepodcast.com)

This article about changing attitudes to mental health

This past week it was announced that writer Sally Brampton had taken her own life, after decades of battling depression. I always enjoyed her Agony Aunt column in The Sunday Times, and I admired her honesty when it came to talking about mental health. Sheridan Smith has been in the news for taking time off to recover from stress and exhaustion, and people have been both negative and positive about this. The point is we need to acknowledge that it’s ok to not be ok sometimes, and it’s ok to talk about it.

_89673231_32219206obj-js676163
Sally Brampton (image: bbc.co.uk)

This brilliant article by Ruby Tandoh about the bullshit ‘clean eating’ trend

Lots of people retweeted Ruby’s comments about this issue, and now this article has come out, and I am really pleased about this. The Hemsley sisters and Amelia Freer are all nuts. Eat healthily, indulge when you want to, do some exercise, be happy. That’s it.

Ruby Tandoh at home, London, Britain - 11 Nov 2013
Ruby Tandoh (image: independent.co.uk)

This article about outgrowing your friends

This article caught my eye because I have recently spent a lot of time thinking about people I used to be friends with. I keep seeing updates from school friends on Facebook and I actually reached out to the girl who used to be my best friend – and while it was nice to talk, we didn’t really have anything to say anymore. And that’s ok. It’s ok to move on, and you shouldn’t feel bad about it.

safe_image
(image: lookatthatad.blogspot.co.uk)

The Future (with a capital F)

I’m 28, I’ll admit it. I’ve realised I’m an Adult now with a capital A. I want to buy a house, I want to get married, I want kids, I want a dog, I want the idyllic life. And that’s a good thing. I am less afraid than I was to make plans for things I really want. I am no longer completely crippled by the fear that I might not get them, or that I will lose what I have (still a bit crippled by it). I am thinking about the Future, and it’s great.

article-2187767-1486A64E000005DC-203_964x590
dream house (image: dailymail.co.uk)

 

What is interesting you at the moment??

Leave a Reply

