Heroine/Hero · Life · Music · Opinion

Heroine: Stevie Nicks

Fleetwood Mac have been a near-constant presence in my life, for the whole of my life. My parents liked them and I vividly remember their music playing the house – especially the 1997 live album The Dance. It is a superb album.

I always thought Stevie Nicks was cool, even before I really understood why. Her face seems so familiar to me. I love that she is a mixture of hippy, rock, folk, and big ballads, all mixed together in this one person.

Some people argue that Fleetwood Mac were best in their early Peter Green era, when they were more bluesy and less refined. That era is amazing, but it is of its time. Once Stevie Nicks and Lindsey Buckingham joined the band things seemed to come together, musically at least. That’s the Fleetwood Mac that I love, and it doesn’t exist without Stevie Nicks.

She is wild and beautiful, unconventional and striking, mysterious and new – even now. I may not be a hippy or one to wear long flowing skirts and top hats, but I see something in her that I just get. I love you, Stevie.

image via fashiongonerogue.com
image via fashiongonerogue.com
image via stevienicksofficial.com
image via stevienicksofficial.com
image via stevienicksofficial.com
image via stevienicksofficial.com
image via rollingstone.com
image via rollingstone.com
Leave a Reply

